Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Help replace head gasket

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2010, 12:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help replace head gasket

Okay so i've got my upper intake manifold off, valve cover off,
first question do i have to take the lower intake manifold off too?
Its a 1994 f150 5.0
i'm assuming i do have to take it off, next if i just loosen the rocker bolts a little and pivot them to take out the push rods and label them will i have to adjust the valves at all

heck i am a beginner tech. , infact i'm still going to school now (started about a month ago) so i'm hoping one of you experienced guys can help me out here

i have done a head gasket once before on a vw jetta and evrything came out fine this is just a hole different kind of motor

any help is greatly appreciated
Old 09-10-2010, 01:05 AM
We'd do it

Received 449 Likes on 402 Posts

Yes the lower has to come off. The rockers are torque down, no special adjustments.
Old 09-11-2010, 02:41 PM

Default Crate motor

so I went to take the lower intake off and the to bolts on the back closest to the firewall/bulkhead snapped off, so I got pissed put it back together and said forget it I'll run it till it dies then just drop a crate motor in it

when you buy a crate motor does it come with that or will i have to take that off my motor and put it on the new one
Old 09-11-2010, 04:17 PM
We'd do it

Received 449 Likes on 402 Posts

A crate motor is a longblock, you need your externals.
Old 09-11-2010, 05:37 PM