Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

93 4x4 Engine Swap Blues

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2014, 11:13 AM

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default 93 4x4 Engine Swap Blues

Howdy Folks, noob here.

I have had many cars/trucks over the years and wrenched on all of them myself, rebuilt several engines too, but mostly GM & Chrysler. Also I own a 93 5.0 Mustang, so I'm not new to Ford's but I don't have much experience with these older Ford trucks.

Anyway, I saved a 93 Regular Cab, 4x4, Flareside from the crusher the other day, while at the local salvage yard. I was there looking for some other parts and the truck caught my eye. I haven't seen many Flaresides around, and the truck isn't too bad, a little rust on the front fenders, but those can be replaced.

The owner of the salvage yard said it had a bad 5.0 in it. When I got the title I called the PO and he confirmed, his ex drove it while low on oil, after he told her not to until he could get some oil and put in it. The engine started making 'Bad noises', he didn't have money to fix it, so he called the salvage yard to come get it.

So I have been researching until my head is almost ready to explode, and trying to decide weather to rebuild the original 5.0, or try to find a used 5.0 or 5.8, and from what year?

I think I understand that the 5.0 can be converted to MAF which is a huge improvement. But the 5.8 can not be converted to MAF, because the factory never offered it. Am I correct on that one?

Also, the 94 and newer engines weather 5.0 or 5.8 had a better more efficient cam than the older engines, so should I look for an engine 94 and newer?

I have found a 89 5.0 with less than $100k locally for $300, or

A 94 5.8 out of an F250 with 101k for $600.