Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

1993 F-150 Power Steering Pump

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2011, 07:06 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1993 F-150 Power Steering Pump

Hello Everyone!

I recently purchased a 1993 Ford F-150 5.0 L, and it runs fine with the exception of a very leaky power steering pump (Or gearbox, I'm not sure). My question is...how long would it take to replace the pump (if the pump is the issue) or the gearbox (if the gearbox is the issue)? I've been filling the power steering reservoir with ATF for awhile now.

Another thing...I am a newbie outside of replacing brake shoes, doing oil and oil filter changes, etc. Can a newbie like me do the job accurately without messing anything else up?

Thanks guys! I really appreciate it.

DuctTape
Old 09-06-2011, 07:56 PM
It's a Canadian thing eh!

Received 195 Likes on 188 Posts

First before you start ripping things apart, try and narrow down the problem first. Wipe down as much of the fluid as possible and try and locate the leak by only adding small quantities of fluid at a time, may be as simple as a steering hose which takes about 15 min to change if its not too rusty.

If its the pump, 45min - 1h to replace based on you're experience, take off the belt, loosen the hoses ( and if their steel, DON'T BEND THEM!!), then the bolts on the engine. Do this in reverse to reinstall it.

If its a steering box, you may be able to get a rebuild kit for a bout 12$-20$ if you're handy enough, that or its a bout a 270$ part, but core exchanges for them pay back pretty good. Estimate time time on that may take you 1h 30min approx if it isn't too rusty. Unbolt and slide off steering column, loosen hoses, the pitman arm if you're lucky to get it loose and the bolts that hold the steering box. Do the same in reverse to re-install
Old 09-06-2011, 08:44 PM
We'd do it

Received 449 Likes on 402 Posts