Topic Sponsor

Starter won't disengage after engine starts

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2015, 09:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Starter won't disengage after engine starts

The starter on my '87 f150 wont stop cranking the engine. Even with the keys out of the ignition it'll keep turning over. Then when the key is turned to the start position, the engine starts and revs up but the starter continues to crank the engine at a high RPM. Had to disconnect the battery cable to stop it. Not sure what's going on. Mechanically, I'm just a novice. But love being a DIY'er when it comes to working on cars. I'm thinking maybe the ignition switch or starter solenoid. Any suggestions on what the problem might be? Don't really want to take it in if I can fix it myself.
Old 03-26-2015, 09:40 PM

Received 708 Likes on 671 Posts

Use a test light.
Check the little wire at the fender mounted solenoid. It should get power when you turn the key to start. it should not get power at any other time.
If it's getting power when it shouldn't the problem will be in the wire from the ignition switch on the column or more likely the ignition switch itself. The ignition switch is bolted to the bottom of the column. Lie on the floor with your head jammed against the brake pedal and look up.
If it's getting power when you turn the key and not getting power when the key isn't at start then the ignition switch circuit is ok that far and the problem will be with the fender mounted solenoid (sticking - replace) or the bendix gear (starter drive gear) on the starter itself is sticking (replace starter - recommended- or replace bendix gear and/or starter solenoid)
Old 09-06-2015, 03:15 PM

JrW - I'm having the exact same issue right now. I've already replaced the solenoid and it's still happening. Were you able to get yours resolved? If so, was it the starter switch or the starter?

Thanks,
David (aka Bean Counter)
Old 11-30-2016, 01:25 PM
91 F150 XLT 2WD 5.0 E40D

did you find the fix?