Topic Sponsor

Replaced Ignition Lock Cylinder - No gauges or radio

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2015, 01:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replaced Ignition Lock Cylinder - No gauges or radio

I will preface this by saying that I'm a newbie and an idiot. This is a 93 F150 v6 2wd.

I decided to replace the ignition lock cylinder and my door locks since the seller of my truck had different keys for each. I bought a used ignition cylinder and door lock set. I realized afterwords that I didn't remove it correctly. With the battery still connected, I released the cylinder with the ignition just turned to on not run where the detent first releases. I didn't disconnect the battery, turn it all the way to run, and then remove...

After I replaced it, I could turn it to on, and start the truck, but I had no power to my radio or my instrument panel. All lights and everything else function. I decided to put my original cylinder back in which was a mistake. I started and worked fine with the same power issues. It ended up falling apart in my hands after I tried reinstalling it correctly 3 times and I had to reinstall the used one again. So I'm back to a running truck with no power to the gauges or radio. I did some searching and saw some similar problems. However all of my electronics were working 5 minutes before I changed the cylinder. What did I do and how can I (or somebody less stupid) fix it? All fuses in the panel checked out also. Thanks.

Last edited by S_Mitch; 01-03-2015 at 01:32 PM.
Old 01-03-2015, 02:49 PM
1994 F150 XLT 5.8L 2wd

Received 247 Likes on 237 Posts