Topic Sponsor

Factory Speakers Don't Work

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2017, 12:12 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Factory Speakers Don't Work

I bought an '87 f150 Lariat and the speakers don't work. The radio/ cassette player shows the clock time and i can turn the radio on and adjust the station, but I don't get any sound. I'm not mechanically or electrically inclined, so I'm trying to learn while being careful and cautious not to screw anything up. I was planning on getting a CD player (I don't do ipods and I sure don't listen to the stuff on the radio). I'm not sure if this is even possible, but could I install a CD player and run a pair of speakers out of it and build a speaker cab for behind the bench seat (and hide the wires)? I'm not looking to rattle cracks in the pavement with bass and volume, I just want to listen to music and hear it with my windows down. Admittedly, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this stuff and I couldn't find a previous thread that applied exactly to my question. Thanks in advance
Old 06-13-2017, 09:35 AM

Received 93 Likes on 91 Posts

need to figure if it is the radio or the speakers...the easy way is to jumper in a spare speaker to one of the existing locations and see what you here.

Few CD players are available today, that do NOT include a radio and some sort of device/bluetooth interface. Speakers can be installed in cabinets under or behind the seat and many people do so. The current radio can be replaced with an aftermarket unit, quite easily.

Many sources online (Crutchfield's) has the things needed for you to do a complete system replacement or you could visit a local auto stereo shop and they too can provide the parts or the install for you
Old 06-15-2017, 01:35 AM