F150 1996 Fuel Pumps will not Activate - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor

F150 1996 Fuel Pumps will not Activate

Old 09-03-2015, 04:23 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default F150 1996 Fuel Pumps will not Activate

Have F150 1996, 5.0L with AODE. Truck was running before engine & transmission switch. Replaced engine & transmission with roller cam 5.0L from '93 T-Bird & transmission with E40D from '95 F150. Fuel pumps will not activate. Pumps will function when activated using jumper box connected to pump electrical connector. Fuel will flow to fuel line at fuel rail. Pumps are not the problem. Engine will start with starting fluid. Fuel pump relay checks, working. Have not changed the computer. Seems to be a grd. problem. Have several 95/96 F150s and have done engine swaps many times. Open to all ideas. If anyone has a problem, I know to much about F150/Broncos 92/96. Just not this problem.
Thanks
kenw is offline  
Old 09-04-2015, 08:04 AM
  #2  
1994 F150 XLT 5.8L 2wd
 
fltdriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2,150
Thanked 244 Times in 234 Posts
Default

Inertia Switch was probably tripped, just needs reset
fltdriver is offline  
Old 09-04-2015, 08:06 AM
  #3  
1994 F150 XLT 5.8L 2wd
 
fltdriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2,150
Thanked 244 Times in 234 Posts
Default

fltdriver is offline  
Old 11-13-2016, 10:34 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default reset inertia switch?

How does one reset the inertia switch??
thanks, ruben71 (1985 F150 high pressure fuel pump)
ruben71 is offline  
Old 10-27-2018, 11:58 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ruben71 View Post
How does one reset the inertia switch??
thanks, ruben71 (1985 F150 high pressure fuel pump)
I don't have an f150 but I do have a 95 bronco .the inertia switch on the bronco is located under the passenger side corner panel up towards where the dash meets the door frame. There should be a red switch/button. If it tripped you should be able to use a flat head screw driver to push it back in.
Jamie Vinson is offline  
Old 10-28-2018, 12:56 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Chris_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,771
Thanked 688 Times in 653 Posts
Default

Check your grounds especially the one in front of the coolant reservoir and the one beside the battery.
Chris_1 is offline  
Old 10-28-2018, 01:07 PM
  #7  
Bronco Guru
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Memphis, TN, Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 2,884
Thanked 340 Times in 312 Posts
Default

Thread from the dead... 2016
Steve83 is offline  
Old 11-18-2018, 11:37 PM
  #8  
2008 F150 5.4L
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
Thread from the dead... 2016
Indeed it is, and I found this extremely useful today. Did the same things others did while changing the plugs. Glad to know I can get an injector o-ring tomorrow.
Laker213 is offline  
Old 11-20-2018, 06:16 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi All,
I have been searching for something like this thread for few weeks now. Incoming long story. I just purchased 1987 F150 4x4 with an HO engine in it and i love it butt...... it smells like gas after running for a bit and lots of hoses are just plugged with screws which worries me a bit. for the most part the engine and transmission seem to be strong and working just fine no idle problems and when i hit the pedal it goes but it does smell like gas after a while. I noticed the O2 sensor is just dangling under the car and the exhaust was horribly done and does not have the bung holes for the O2 sensor. The issue i am facing is 1 i gotta redo the exhaust so it seals properly the flanges are not properly seating and 2 i know the fox body mustangs use two O2 sensors and the f150s used one. so far from looking at my harness it is using the truck harness because i only see 1 O2 sensor, i am kinda confused what to do next. should i replace the exhaust and put a bung where the two exhaust lines meet or should i install a dual exhaust get a new harness and install both O2 sensors? The obvious ansewr would probably be to find out what ECU is in it and go based off of that but i would like to hear from you experienced folk first.

Thanks in advanced!
da tree is offline  


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: F150 1996 Fuel Pumps will not Activate


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: