Topic Sponsor

desperately in need of help with mysterious fuse #4 reblow ('96 4.9L/I6)

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2018, 12:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy desperately in need of help with mysterious fuse #4 reblow ('96 4.9L/I6)

Hey guys & gals, I have a 1996 Ford F150 regular cab 8ft longbed with the legendary 4.9L I6 and E4OD transmission.

For the last year and a half I've been trying to figure out why fuse position #4 [15AMP] continues to repeatedly blow on me. I am no electrical expert, but I understand when a fuse repeatedly blows there's likely a "short to ground" somewhere, but to be honest I'm not sure exactly what that means and I'm a little slow on the uptake of technical info, so youtube continues to fail me and I'm hoping some veteran forum members here can help walk me through this to resolution, because I seriously don't know what to do anymore.

Fuse #4, as indicated by the chart on the inverse of the cabin fuse panel door, governs 4 components: "warning buzzer/ chime module; exterior lamps; instrument illumination; trailer exterior lamp relay." For the record, I do not have any audible chime/ buzzer in my truck and have not for the 6+ years I've been its second owner--I know some models have a buzzer that sounds when the key is placed into the ignition cylinder, but mine does not have that, or at least the previous owner apparently deleted the functionality [presumably, out of annoyance]--, so I disregard that first component. This asserts the need for investigation into the remaining three components: (1) exterior lamps, (2) the cluster panel, and (3) the trailer lamp relay, each of which I will hereafter discuss in-turn.