Topic Sponsor

R&R on my transmission, help please.

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2013, 07:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default R&R on my transmission, help please.

A.D.D. Shortcut: Actual questions at the bottom

Hi Folks. I have a 1987 F150 Lariat XLT 4x4 302, AOD. that I just picked up for a song. Here she is being hauled off the farm I found her on:

Anyway... I got her cheap because the rear drive line had catastrophically failed, and broken the mounting points on the trans housing where they meet the (output shaft housing? trans to transfer case tube thingy?)

I'm not new to turning a wrench (they go around and around! wheeee!) But I am pretty new to 4x4 trucks and actually working on auto transmissions.

It's an AOD with a borg warner manual transfercase.

I purchased an AOD from an 89 bronco today, which will do the trick nicely.

INSTALL QUESTIONS:

(A link to a DIY would be nice... I will read a chiltons too, but chiltons lacks info, I don't want to be spoon fed here, just shove me in the right direction if you haven't got time to get out the gerber and a tiny spoon.)

1 Do you first mount the torque converter to the trans... or to the engine?

2 Do you marry the transfer case to the trans before you install it?

3 What do you do to balance it and keep it safe? I can strap it and use the floor jack and a bottle jack or two.

4 Do you mount the crossmember before you get it in there?

5 I have the rear mount/bushing from the F150 and from the 89 bronco, they are quite different in design, any idea which I should use? (I'll probably buy a new one.)

Thank you in advance for any help, links, or advice. I look forward to being part of this community and I'll be glad to contribute what I can when I can.
Old 06-19-2013, 07:52 PM
We'd do it

Received 448 Likes on 402 Posts

Originally Posted by sgLoki
A.D.D. Shortcut: Actual questions at the bottom