Topic Sponsor

Clutch Replacement

Old 04-20-2019, 08:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch Replacement

Hey everybody, I have a 1992 flareside 4x4 and I was looking to replace my clutch due to issues with it not going into gear and upon investigation I opened that rubber access door to view fork and it was packed with a nest. So I’m guessing it would be needed to be replace due to the urine and etc. my question is I was looking at rock auto and I am not sure which clutch kit would be best for me. I’m new to manuals and was doing okay before it was parked. Is there one that is strong enough to take continuing to learn stick and haul heavy items?
Old 04-20-2019, 09:32 AM

Received 90 Likes on 79 Posts

Before dropping the transmission to change the clutch it would be worthwhile to just clean the nest out. If you can get everything out there is probably no need to replace the clutch. Chances are good that nothing harmful got behind the pressure plate to the clutch disk. Good luck!

Jonathan
Old 04-20-2019, 12:01 PM

Received 1,731 Likes on 1,487 Posts

I agree - try cleaning the whole truck first. Inside & out. Top to bottom. Buy a set of ramps so you can get underneath easier, and blast the grime off of everything.

(phone app link)

This is a "before":

(phone app link)

This is after pressure-washing a few times (and pulling/fixing/painting/installing the engine):

(phone app link)

But you don't actually need a pressure washer:

(phone app link)

These albums show trucks that were abandoned in the woods for several years:

(phone app link)

(phone app link)

Once it's clean, I highly recommend putting rat poison pellets anywhere they'll stay in/on/under the truck. I live in the woods, so I keep it on all my vehicles, including mowers & golf cart. I use Ramik *****.
Amazon Amazon
Old 04-20-2019, 04:12 PM

Originally Posted by Steve83