Topic Sponsor

Truck sits too low in front, are new springs the easy fix?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2015, 01:34 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Truck sits too low in front, are new springs the easy fix?

Hey all so I got my truck pretty cheap and it runs great but I don't like the way it sits. The front sits so low the you can see it's negative camber, and the back sits so high I can put my head in the wheel well. I assumed all I have to do is put new springs in the front to even it out but if I use a jack to level the vehicle you can then see it has a lot of positive camber and looks silly. I know that these trucks tend to sit higher in the back than in the front but I'd like it to sit at least a little more level.

If I put in a set of these for example, which have a slightly higher load height, will it help even out the truck but then give me camber issues??? http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/more...304&cc=1122365

Help I'm a newbie with suspension. Thanks a ton

Old 01-05-2015, 01:50 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

It's hard to say from your picture, but it appears your truck is riding at factory height. These trucks from the factory sit approximately 2 inches higher in the back. Many folks have leveled their truck out using "drop shackles"

http://www.roughcountry.com/lowering...L4cRoCaPDw_wcB
Old 01-05-2015, 11:07 AM
1994 F150 XLT 5.8L 2wd

Received 247 Likes on 237 Posts

Or using moog 824 or 844 springs in the front, super easy to do.
Old 01-05-2015, 06:18 PM

Cool! I didn't know lowering shackles were a thing but their really cheap. I just went outside and measured it and the truck is exactly 4 inches higher in the back than in the front.

Also yes! Those were the Moog 824's were what I was looking at but I did not know if there were any consequences to using springs that are not quite correct for your specific truck.