Topic Sponsor

Getting the sags!

Old 10-08-2017, 06:16 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Getting the sags!

My 1996 f150, 4.9l w/5 speed is beginning to sag or lean on the curbside, rear. There are no broken springs it all looks reasonably sound. On a flat parking lot there is .75" difference in height from the roadside to the curbside. The curbside or passenger side is the side sagging.

I'm doing a lot of restoration to a property that I own and when I get a pallet of cement mix (14 bags x 60lbs) and take a measurement to the same location on the same parking lot there is 1.50" difference between roadside and curbside.

I don't have time to pull the leaf springs and put in a new set, i need the truck every day with cold weather coming on and I have had some bad experiences with air bags. I was thinking about a set or over or under helper springs for the rear leafs. Anyone have any experiences with such and care to share there experiences or recommend one. I have been on line with NAPA, but there web site at least, does not show much in respect to helper spring, primarily just air bags and shocks.

Appreciate the help!
Old 10-09-2017, 07:11 AM

Received 486 Likes on 421 Posts

I had a sagging left side, I put a one inch thick steel block(cut to length and width) between the leafs and the rear end axle several years ago. Has sat fine since. If both were sagging, I would go the helper spring route. Problem is I wouldn't just put them on one side, truck would handle poorly. Shocks were never meant to support the load, in my opinion and I would not consider them.
Old 10-09-2017, 06:48 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

My 1996 F150 is beginning to sag on the passenger side also. Mine is only 7/16 difference at this point. I plan on doing the same thing the other poster did, a flat metal shim.
But I do wonder why they sag on the passenger side before the drivers side.
Old 10-11-2017, 05:25 AM

Originally Posted by terry274