Topic Sponsor

'87 4.9L Wont start - Whats this noise?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2018, 10:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question '87 4.9L Wont start - Whats this noise?

Hi Guys,

I just refurbished this '87 F150 custom 4.9L.

I didnt touche the engine itself much, just replaced the PCV and EGR Valve, and Exhaust Manifolds.
I Replaced an old Rotted Cable going from the battery directly to the starter (Seen in RED in this video).

I replaced the in-line Fuel Pump situated just under the driver seat held in the Frame.

I turn the key to the "On", and instantly I get a moderatly loud "werrring" sound (hear it twice in the video)
If I just leave the ignition to "on" that werring comes back every 5-10 seconds.

If I move from "on" to ignition, nothing happens. no noise, no click, nothing.
This is my first time working on a truck...

I also have a OBS1 Scanner, I plugged it in, turned it on, pressed the "TEST/HOLD" button but it just stays on 0.00
Again, first timer here so I dont even know if I am doing that right. But the instructions were simply, leave truck off, plug in, turn tester on, hold test button.

I filmed my first attempt to start the truck. Please take a minute to check it out...
I can upload more videos of anything you guys want me to check.

I could really use some guidance.

Regards,

Denis
Old 04-20-2018, 08:11 AM

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

I think that noise is your starter motor spinning without engaging into the ring gear.
The starter has a gear on the electric motor that flys out when the starter starts.
Take the starter apart and clean those parts. Use NO grease! Use NO oil. those parts slide dry.
Old 04-20-2018, 04:06 PM

Received 1,731 Likes on 1,487 Posts

First: put all the truck's details into your signature as described in this caption:

(phone app link)