Topic Sponsor

$600+ valve job?????? w/ no labor.

Old 08-16-2013, 08:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default $600+ valve job?????? w/ no labor.

hey guys i am still learning my interior motor and whats what but i am in process of rebuilding it and my first step was valves and head. so i pulled my head and removed valves ,pushrods, etc put each valve and components in a bag and labeled them 1-12. i then cleaned my head real good. and took it to machine shop for some quotes i went in was told owner is not there to quote but they can look at it for free and call with quote 2 days later i call them to see whats up and they tell me they just hot tanked and are getting ready to magnaflux it. they stopped when i told them i was still shopping around and didnt authorize and now they want 60$ for a hot tank . out of curiousity i asked valve job cost they said 210 for valve job, 60 for hot tank 45 to magnaflux, 60 to resurface,75 for hard seats, 70 for exh seats,60 to install exh seats, forgot how much to hone valve cylinder,and how much for them to reassemble. plus they dont use new valve seals unless you buy a head kit and then charge more to install em. so my main question is what the hell is a valve job that doesnt do any of the forementioned. and anyone in sacramento ca area stay away from mothers automotive fair oaks ca. and any recomendations for honest machine shop. . thank you for any input on the subject sorry for such long post.
Old 08-17-2013, 08:47 AM

Received 434 Likes on 289 Posts

Originally Posted by workinman
. so my main question is what the hell is a valve job that doesnt do any of the forementioned.

It's not a valve job, that's for sure.

Valve job normally entails everything you listed, and quality work isn't cheap. Hot tank/magnaflux should be done just to tell them if the head is still good enough to justify the cost of the work for you, particularly if you have no relationship with them.