Topic Sponsor
Lighting Come discuss all Ford F150 Lighting questions here!

Going From Stock Halogen Lights to HID

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2015, 12:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going From Stock Halogen Lights to HID

I just got a new 2014 F150 Stx and has the halogen lights. I really Want to upgrade from them to HID or Projection light. I am new to this and really don't know how to do this. I don't know what I need to buy either. I have a black truck and just want some cool headlights. Can someone tell me or suggest what to buy and what I need please. I am a noob so explain it simply please. Thanks for the help.
Old 01-17-2015, 02:01 PM
Chive So Hard

Received 84 Likes on 77 Posts

OEM projectors with OEM HID's seem to be a popular swap. Fairly easy to do but isnt the cheapes tthing you will do to your truck.
Old 01-17-2015, 04:24 PM

Received 50 Likes on 36 Posts

Welcome to the F150 forum!

I'm in the process of changing my '13 XLT from halogen to HID because I want the better night lighting. It's not cheap. HID lights are fundamentally different. All the light is "projected" - none is bounced off a reflector like our Halogens work.

That means you'll need to swap or modify the housings. The lower cost but more technically complex route is to "retrofit" your own halogen housings by prying off the clear part (the "lens") and mounting the HID stuff inside. TRS (The Retrofit Source) seems to be a popular place to get quality parts to do that. Prices this route may run $200 - $500 depending on parts quality and luck.

The easier but more expensive route is to buy the factory projector housings and lights, or have someone like Bilvinic or "Tux" do the retrofit for you. This route will cost $1000 - $1400 or so, depending on customization and luck.