Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing 27' trailer with family

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2018, 09:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Towing 27' trailer with family

Hi.

I'm just starting out speccing a tow vehicle for a trailer I plan to receive next March--an Airstream with a GVWR of 7600 lbs and a (published) hitch weight of 820 lbs. I plan to take my family (2 kids), bikes, and the trailer on a few test run trips in the Spring, but head out for 3 months or so next summer, possibly to Alaska.

Since I have time and my current vehicle won't tow this trailer, I'm researching a variety of towing vehicles: the 150, 250, and various SUVs and vans. Of everything I've researched, I'm most interested in the 150. I am a woodworker and it would be useful to me where I live (just outside Chicago); other options get too large very quickly and won't see any use outside towing. But the primary decision will be safety-based.

I've read many threads on this forum and others and have seen many people using their F-150s much larger and heavier rigs than the one I plan to, but I don't have a lot of context for their trips. Do they travel with a family? Do they go over mountain ranges? What are they carrying? Rounding up, I'm looking to put 600 lbs of people, 75 lbs of generator, about 125 lbs of bike and let's say 250 lbs of "other crap"--1050 lbs total--in or on the truck. Let's round the hitch weight up to 1000 for a loaded trailer and we're just over 2000 lbs of payload. As many of you have reported, that's well over capacity for many 150s. So I looked through the Post your Payload thread on this forum and found that TerryD64's Lariat HDPP, which is almost identical in spec to the one I built on the Ford website, gets 2300 lbs. That would be perfect.

My questions are pretty straightforward:
  • How does HDPP affect ride quality?