Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice to pull these type of campers

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2017, 07:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice to pull these type of campers

Hello - I'm new to the Ford F150 and campers and have a huge learning curve. With that said, I'm looking into getting both in the near future and need advice as to what F150 would be best to pull these type of campers. In most cases it would be 2 adults and a 70# dog included in the configuration. Apologies in advance for the dumb question. Thanks!

http://www.scamptrailers.com/showroo...uxe_LayoutA_01

https://www.airstream.com/travel-trailers/sport/ (16 ft)
Old 03-28-2017, 08:36 AM

Received 115 Likes on 84 Posts

Both appear to top out at around 3,500. You likely wouldn't notice you were pulling anything.

Single axle is considered lightweight. Another axle means more weight by adding length, slideouts and options. Read and understand your door sticker. You'll find help with that here.

Scamps a made near me. I've seen many over the years. Their appearance hasn't changed much but the internals have improved. The Airstream is a big ticket. It'll hold its value.
Old 03-28-2017, 09:11 AM

Received 159 Likes on 126 Posts

You can easily pull either one with virtually any F150.

Kinda opposite ends of the spectrum there!!
Old 03-28-2017, 09:43 AM

Received 43 Likes on 34 Posts

Either one is fine for your truck but I can tell you a tandem axle trailer pulls a bit better. It also is easier to back up. FWIW.
Old 03-28-2017, 07:17 PM

Trying to decide between the 2.7 Ecoboost or 3.5 Ecoboost. And also if there is was a special towing option that should be considered. I know it's not a big camper but trying to be sure I get the right truck to pull this type of camper. There is a chance down the line I could get a bigger camper but nothing too huge.
Old 03-28-2017, 07:33 PM