Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Let’s hear it for the weight police

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2012, 12:08 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Let’s hear it for the weight police

First off, no I am not being facetious.
I am totally new to towing and pickup trucks in general, been a motorcycle guy nearly my whole life. I’ve always looked at 4 wheel vehicles as a necessary evil.
I purchased my first truck ever in April of this year for the express purpose of towing a trailer, having very little knowledge of its limitations. All I knew was that it had a tow capacity of 11,100 lbs. The way I looked at it at the time was that it would be easy to find a unit under 11,100 lbs that my family and I would be comfortable in.
When I started shopping for an RV, I had several dealers telling me I would have no trouble towing 9000+ lbs (dry), 36’ units with my ½ ton. I had one dealer tell me that hitch weight is irrelevant if you use a WDH. In fact, in the over a dozen dealers I visited, there was only one that recommended against certain units based on weight or length.
I’ve spent some time on this site learning from people who have actually done it (rather than from those just trying to sell me something). It’s been an eye opening and often frustrating learning experience but in the end I selected a smaller unit which I’m sure I will be very happy with; but more importantly, safer with.
So, Thank you weight police, you may not have told me what I wanted to hear, but you told me what I needed to hear. Best case is I would have purchased an RV that was too much for my truck, worst case is I put my family and others on the road in jeopardy.

Last edited by eduardobibm; 08-06-2012 at 12:10 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by eduardobibm:
Buck (10-12-2012), MachinistALB (11-11-2012)
Old 08-06-2012, 12:13 PM

Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts