Topic Sponsor
Towing/ Hauling/ Plowing Discuss all of your towing and/or cargo moving experiences here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LED Trailer Lights

 
Old 06-14-2012, 01:44 PM
  #11  
Meaner than ymeski56
 
XtraLargeTall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Morgan, Colorado
Posts: 28,693
Liked 450 Times in 327 Posts
Default

I was just giving you a hard time haha.

Is it a 4 or 7 pin connector on the trailer? And does your pickup have the tow package?
XtraLargeTall is offline  
Old 06-14-2012, 10:52 PM
  #12  
Member
 
fx2black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 79
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I built a tandem axle trailer to pull behind my 2000 ranger, I put led markers on the trailer and they work great. I have not installed led stop/turn/brake yet but don't believe I will have a problem with that. Wired the leds same as any other light.
fx2black is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 12:24 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,247
Likes: 0
Liked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Can you explain this 'not turn on the circuits' thing a little more? I don't understand what was going on there with the Benz.
flixden is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 12:27 AM
  #14  
Meaner than ymeski56
 
XtraLargeTall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Morgan, Colorado
Posts: 28,693
Liked 450 Times in 327 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flixden
Can you explain this 'not turn on the circuits' thing a little more? I don't understand what was going on there with the Benz.
X2
XtraLargeTall is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 05:32 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by XtraLargeTall View Post
I was just giving you a hard time haha.

Is it a 4 or 7 pin connector on the trailer? And does your pickup have the tow package?
I know, I'm cool. It had the 7 pin connector. My truck has the trailor package and the trailer brake controller

As for activating the trailer circuits, most new vehicles have separate circuirts on their own relays for the trailer lights. It If the bulbs don't draw enough watts, they won't turn on or you make get a burned out bulb indicator. Looks like it is not a problem with the Fords.

With my Mercedes, I had to rent car haulers with incandesent bulbs. It wouldn't turn on the LED lights.
1M Fan is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 06:18 PM
  #16  
Meaner than ymeski56
 
XtraLargeTall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Morgan, Colorado
Posts: 28,693
Liked 450 Times in 327 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 1M Fan

I know, I'm cool. It had the 7 pin connector. My truck has the trailor package and the trailer brake controller

As for activating the trailer circuits, most new vehicles have separate circuirts on their own relays for the trailer lights. It If the bulbs don't draw enough watts, they won't turn on or you make get a burned out bulb indicator. Looks like it is not a problem with the Fords.

With my Mercedes, I had to rent car haulers with incandesent bulbs. It wouldn't turn on the LED lights.
Have you installed the fuse and relay for the trailer yet? Can't remember where they go exactly but they should be in the glove box in a bag.
XtraLargeTall is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 06:34 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by XtraLargeTall View Post
Have you installed the fuse and relay for the trailer yet? Can't remember where they go exactly but they should be in the glove box in a bag.
My brake controller was factory installed.
1M Fan is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 06:41 PM
  #18  
Meaner than ymeski56
 
XtraLargeTall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Morgan, Colorado
Posts: 28,693
Liked 450 Times in 327 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 1M Fan

My brake controller was factory installed.
But they still leave out a fuse and relay used for the trailer. I think it's for constant power for batteries and such but it doesn't hurt to put em in
XtraLargeTall is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 09:20 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,247
Likes: 0
Liked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by XtraLargeTall View Post
But they still leave out a fuse and relay used for the trailer. I think it's for constant power for batteries and such but it doesn't hurt to put em in
Mine (fuse and relay) were installed at the factory - I am pretty sure about that.
flixden is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 09:24 PM
  #20  
Meaner than ymeski56
 
XtraLargeTall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Morgan, Colorado
Posts: 28,693
Liked 450 Times in 327 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flixden

Mine (fuse and relay) were installed at the factory - I am pretty sure about that.
Mine wasn't. Time to call up the lawyer!

But in all seriousness OP, check and see if they're installed or not just for good measure. The fuse box is right there when you open the hood
XtraLargeTall is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: LED Trailer Lights


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: