Topic Sponsor
Members Builds See any build threads created by members to track progress of their projects.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Rennergade Build (and rebuild)

Old 10-18-2013, 03:31 AM
Mud Monkey

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default The Rennergade Build (and rebuild)

PIC HEAVY

Figure with all the work being done on my truck lately I may as well start a build thread. I guess I'll start from the beginning.

It was a beautiful summer day in the year of '95 and... Oh. Too far back.

So it was fall of 2012 and I decided I wanted a truck. It kind of just happened, like this:

Having had my license for almost a year at that point 17 year old John went searching on the internet.

I had been working since I was 12 years old so it was no problem! Or so I thought. I stumbled upon what I thought was a deal too good to be true. (at least in my eyes alright)? An 05' Lariat with a sexy front end and a stance that would make any 17 year old boy dance.

And there she sat, just waiting for me and $8000 to be pocketed by some stranger on the internet who I thought I could trust.

First mistake.

It was an out of province vehicle... which would require an out of province inspection to be registered. But I drove her home anyway.

This truck spent the next 2 months in the backyard of a friends house, where my friend and I spent most of our time dismantling the front end suspension and replacing with new parts. We did this, hoping that it could save some money on labour considering in order for this truck to pass inspection it was going to cost me another $5000

After pulling apart and putting together the front end, about $3000 later; it needed to be sent off to get an alignment. The truck had not been started in 2 months and it was already subzero Alberta outside, the result:

Towed to a chevy stealership (and that's a whole other feud in itself, which I will not get into), but after some cussing I got her back.