Topic Sponsor
Members Builds See any build threads created by members to track progress of their projects.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ND FX4 - thallendorff

Old 05-02-2014, 04:44 PM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Default ND FX4 - thallendorff

Have been reading through the forums for a while now and figured I should start a build thread. I bought my truck March of 2013 from a local dealer with about 7 miles on it. I threw the idea out there to get a pick-up after talking about selling my 98' Nissan Sentra (29-31mpg) that I had been using for the last 7 years... first car, college car, but did the job I needed.

The dealer initially had us test drive a used 12' Lariat and pretty much had us sold on a Ford just by sitting in it. We had test drove a Chevy and Dodge and found the overall leg room was not what we were looking for. We took the truck for a couple days and ended up bringing it back after the weekend knowing we wanted to get into something in their F series. We kicked around different models, features, and colors and finally ended with a new 13' FX4 EB SCREW with 7 miles on it. This is our first brand new vehicle. She had just graduated and become an RN and I had just gotten my new position as a computer operations manager so it was a gift for both of us to enjoy... coincidence that I am the only one driving it?

Mechanically, I have no background outside of changing oil and the usual maintenance. Been learning as I go, which seems to be working so far as I haven't had anything blow up or fail yet on this vehicle or the wife's car.

Future upgrades:
Suspension: Leaning toward ICON Stage 3, given the reviews and experience I see people have with it here.
Gears: New territory for me here, but want to upgrade to 3.73 or 4.10; going from 3.55. Any advice you guys have here would be appreciated.
Sound: Kicker SoundGate Sub Enclosure, undecided on speakers.