Topic Sponsor
Members Builds See any build threads created by members to track progress of their projects.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Getting my 84 f150 into shape

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2017, 06:58 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Getting my 84 f150 into shape

Just bought a real beauty of a 84 f150 inline 6 for a great deal. Problem is that it has some issues from sitting for so long and I have no automotive repair knowledge or experience. But I have the internet, the haynes repair manual, the original owners manual, and you guys to help me learn . It has 107,000 miles on it and looking at the title, it only had 1,000 miles put on it since 2014. From what I hear having an old vehicle like this sitting for long is actually a bad thing. Something about the rubber parts drying out and sediment ect. I had to get the fuel pump replaced almost immediately after purchasing the truck (part #E16010) when it broke down 20 miles down the road from where I purchased it haha. Shes a beauty on the outside but not so much under the hood. Oil leaks and screwy wiring being the biggest problem. The mechanic who put the fuel pump in called the wiring "mickey moused". It has an aftermarket trailer brake so it probably has something to do with that. I am planning to do an overhaul on it to do her good looks some justice and chronicle it here in this thread, and learn as I go. Hopefully this can help other people who just learning basic automotive repair with old ford trucks. First I will start out with the good, then I will get to the bad, then I will post my progress as I go. Here are some pics of her.
Attached Thumbnails Getting my 84 f150 into shape-thumbnail_img_1854.jpg   Getting my 84 f150 into shape-thumbnail_img_1856.jpg   Getting my 84 f150 into shape-thumbnail_img_1871.jpg   Getting my 84 f150 into shape-thumbnail_img_1869.jpg   Getting my 84 f150 into shape-thumbnail_img_1868.jpg