Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

Turbo vehicle exhaust size

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2012, 04:19 PM

Received 41 Likes on 30 Posts

Default Turbo vehicle exhaust size

Can one have too big of an exhaust on a turbo vehicle? Specifically the Ecoboost F-150. I'm planning on installing a 4" system, (modifying the y pipe), but thought I'd ask first. The headpipes from the turbos/cats are 2 1/2", so the rest of the system needs to be at least 3 1/2" single pipe to equal that. Seems to me one would want the least restriction possible downstream of the turbos/cats. Please correct me if I'm mistaken, I have no previous experience with turbos.
Old 03-02-2012, 04:33 PM
I Like Tires

Received 248 Likes on 214 Posts

Depends on what you want. If you want a drag strip truck go big.

If you want to use it as a truck with low rpm torque then keep it around stock.

A smaller pipe will allow for easy engine scavenging at low rpm which = good power in low rpm but will restrict you in high rpm.

A larger pipe will make scavenging exhaust harder in low rpm but will be non restrictive to high rpm equating to an increase in redline rpm.

So if you want high rpm power and lose a little low end get the 4", if you want to keep it where it's at now then keep the pipe sizing equal and get a free-er flowing muffler
Old 03-02-2012, 04:33 PM

Received 502 Likes on 324 Posts