Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

Pain in the ***** Crank-No start issue

Old 10-02-2018, 11:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pain in the ***** Crank-No start issue

To start, I am an international trucks technician. Second, that means I know diesel and I know Big trucks. I DON"T KNOW THESE little bastards that well.

Here is my problem. My wifes 2014 F150 STX 5.0L, she called me a couple months ago "My truck won't start, I am stranded", "Ok as it not start what is it doing?" was my response. Answer "Not Starting - What the $%&# do you mean?"

So I tell her to try and start it so I can hear. Of course it starts. Fast forward to last week, she leaves for work and sure enough won't start. I try and she just cranks and cranks and if you let go of the key it keeps trying until you turn the key to "off". I tried that a couple more times, finally leave the truck and drive her to work. That night I try again, still no start, I climb under the truck and check all the wires and connections, all good. Try to start it fires right up...WTF right?

Do some google research and find a lot of issues that cause this. The most common (and cheapest) was the Fuel Pump Driver Module, (cheaper as in free - Uncle has the hook up there) Change that and restart the truck several times. It works right up until last night. I am in Arkansas at a Dealer training them and she tries to leave the daycare and sure enough it won't start again, this time after 5 min it started.

So I have 3 occurrences:

First couple months ago lasted 5 min (I am assuming she had same issue then).
Next the other day lasted all day 12+ hours.
Again yesterday lasted maybe 5 min.

I have ordered an adapter for FORscan and got the software. I am hoping there are some codes that will lead me in the right direction. Or if it does this again I might be able to look at live data to see an issue.