New Official Livernois Ecoboost Thread - Page 53 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

New Official Livernois Ecoboost Thread

Reply

 
 
 
Old 04-19-2013, 12:29 PM
  #521  
Senior Member
 
TwinTurboFx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,249
Thanked 111 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TMizzy View Post

My process...for instance...I run my tank down to empty, fill up with whatever octane I choose, then load corresponding tune.

If your going from say 87 performance to 87 tow tune. Just swap out the tune. If changing from 87 tow to 93 performance run your tank empty and put 93 in and load the 93 tune.
Your tank doesn't have to be empty. The livernois guys have had no problems with 3/8 of a tank full of 87 and the rest full of 93 to run 93 tune.
TwinTurboFx4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 12:42 PM
  #522  
Member
 
TMizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TwinTurboFx4 View Post

Your tank doesn't have to be empty. The livernois guys have had no problems with 3/8 of a tank full of 87 and the rest full of 93 to run 93 tune.
Precautions I suppose. Just not the type to take a chance on it. I may leave a gallon or so in the tank.
TMizzy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 12:50 PM
  #523  
Senior Member
 
2011FX4boost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 606
Thanked 38 Times in 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TMizzy View Post

Precautions I suppose. Just not the type to take a chance on it. I may leave a gallon or so in the tank.
I agree, I would rather be safe than sorry. 3/8 of a tank of 87 will lower the octane rating of 93.
2011FX4boost is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 12:53 PM
  #524  
Senior Member
 
Tyssa'sRide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 929
Thanked 70 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TMizzy View Post

My process...for instance...I run my tank down to empty, fill up with whatever octane I choose, then load corresponding tune.

If your going from say 87 performance to 87 tow tune. Just swap out the tune. If changing from 87 tow to 93 performance run your tank empty and put 93 in and load the 93 tune.
I understand all of that!! When changing tunes do you need to update the tuner on the PC first? Can you keep the tuner in the truck and change as you like?
Tyssa'sRide is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 01:03 PM
  #525  
Member
 
TMizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by renovatedspaces View Post

I understand all of that!! When changing tunes do you need to update the tuner on the PC first? Can you keep the tuner in the truck and change as you like?
Every so often I hook the tuner up to my computer to make sure the files are all up to date. Other then that I keep it in the truck so I can swap when I like. You don't need to hook it up to your PC every time you wanna change out your tune. Just maybe once a month plug I in and check for new updates.
TMizzy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 01:18 PM
  #526  
Senior Member
 
TwinTurboFx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,249
Thanked 111 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TMizzy View Post

Every so often I hook the tuner up to my computer to make sure the files are all up to date. Other then that I keep it in the truck so I can swap when I like. You don't need to hook it up to your PC every time you wanna change out your tune. Just maybe once a month plug I in and check for new updates.
How do you make sure the files are up to date?
TwinTurboFx4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 01:30 PM
  #527  
Member
 
TMizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TwinTurboFx4 View Post

How do you make sure the files are up to date?
Plug it in to your PC. Open up the Tuner Update Application and run the program.
TMizzy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 01:42 PM
  #528  
Senior Member
 
TwinTurboFx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,249
Thanked 111 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TMizzy View Post

Plug it in to your PC. Open up the Tuner Update Application and run the program.
Hmm never done that before.
TwinTurboFx4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 02:42 PM
  #529  
Senior Member
 
Tyssa'sRide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 929
Thanked 70 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TMizzy View Post

Every so often I hook the tuner up to my computer to make sure the files are all up to date. Other then that I keep it in the truck so I can swap when I like. You don't need to hook it up to your PC every time you wanna change out your tune. Just maybe once a month plug I in and check for new updates.
OK, thanks. I read online somewhere that you had to connect to the PC every time you want to change tunes.
Tyssa'sRide is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 02:50 PM
  #530  
Member
 
TMizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by renovatedspaces View Post

OK, thanks. I read online somewhere that you had to connect to the PC every time you want to change tunes.
That was back when it would only hold your stock and 1 custom tune.
TMizzy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New Official Livernois Ecoboost Thread


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: