HELP! gapped plugs down to .030 on eco and now check engine and no power over 35mph - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

HELP! gapped plugs down to .030 on eco and now check engine and no power over 35mph

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2015, 05:47 PM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: plano tx
Posts: 56
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default HELP! gapped plugs down to .030 on eco and now check engine and no power over 35mph

So I just picked up another f150 after going through a sports car phase. I'll post some pictures later....my urgent issue though is that I was reading about the ecoboost plugs being better at .030 so I decided to see if it would help my rough idle. The truck ran perfectly otherwise. I just pulled the plugs and they were all between .035 and .037 so I gapped them all down to about .030 and put them back in. On startup the idle was bogging a little but smoothed out after running for a second. I made it through my neighborhood and it felt fine while accelerating slowly but when I got out to the main road and pushed it up to 35mph a little faster the check engine light came on and acceleration bogged way down. Now it idles smoother than before but after two runs, the same thing happens at about 35-40 mph. Im not gonna have time to get it to the ford dealer so I need some advice ASAP!

Last edited by Pappa smurf; 09-10-2015 at 05:55 PM. Reason: additional information
Pappa smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 05:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Boostking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 464
Thanked 89 Times in 76 Posts
Default

Its possible you did not get a coil back down on the plug all the way. What was the code for?
Boostking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 06:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Sirikenewtron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,752
Thanked 162 Times in 150 Posts
Default

Make sure all your vac hoses are connected, did you un-connect anything to get to any of the plugs? other than the plug boot wires
first time i did mine i forgot to connect a vacuum line over the far back drivers side plug and same thing happened to me, engine light, no power over a certain speed
Sirikenewtron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 06:22 PM   #4
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: plano tx
Posts: 56
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the replies. Im pretty sure I connected everything that I unplugged and theres no way I could have damaged a coil or anything so it must just be that the coils aren't down all the way. I'll go unplug and plug again to be sure.
Pappa smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 08:40 PM   #5
Member
 
bigblockttop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: bellevue ohio
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had this same issue after doing plugs. Turnes out to be a cam sensor came unplugged in the back on the passenger side. I didnt unplug it. Only thing I could figure is that it wasnt fully clipped in from the factory and I must have bumped it. Wouldnt be a bad idea to just give it a once over and double check all connections.
bigblockttop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 08:42 PM   #6
Member
 
bigblockttop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: bellevue ohio
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Forgot to mention, it looked like it was plugged in but it wasnt. Pushed on it and heard it clip in and that took care of it.
bigblockttop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 08:43 PM   #7
King Hater
 
Tothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: MONTANA
Posts: 5,974
Thanked 750 Times in 557 Posts
Default

Start removing plastic and see whats unplugged.
Tothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 09:09 PM   #8
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: plano tx
Posts: 56
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I went back and disconnected everything to plug it back in. exact same situation on the test drive so I limped over to autozone and found out it was cylinder 3. As it turns out, I over torqued the plug and it cracked. So no big deal. haven't noticed any difference from regapping the plugs but hopefully it'll idle better after this. Thanks all for the help.
Pappa smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 09:18 PM   #9
King Hater
 
Tothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: MONTANA
Posts: 5,974
Thanked 750 Times in 557 Posts
Default

Glad you figured it out.
Tothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 02:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Cord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Bend, Wi
Posts: 1,244
Thanked 75 Times in 64 Posts
Default

There is a TSB out to replace the plug wires with a updated design. Over time the plug wires are degrading and leak spark. Figured this out when I had a new plug carbon arc within 10 miles.
Cord is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rough Idle/Misfiring - HELP! (2006 F150 5.4L v8) carp104 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 51 12-15-2017 06:48 PM
1996 ICM Ignition Control Module "Black" Part #?? ToddS 1987 - 1996 F150 8 12-29-2015 03:37 PM
Mechanically Illiterate HELP HornFrog44 General F150 Discussion 0 09-05-2015 03:59 PM
Had to get rid of my f150 nsejda 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 12 09-04-2015 07:58 PM
Electronic modules and "learn" modes River1 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 7 09-04-2015 12:05 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2017 F150Forum.com We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: