Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

3.5L Ecoboost cylinder material

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2012, 10:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3.5L Ecoboost cylinder material

Ok,

I am new to the truck world and I am really interested in learning about the new ecoboost engine before I buy a truck. I have come to realiz that the engine block and head is aluminum so my question is does the ecoboost use cylinder liners. My only knowledge on aluminum engines is that pressed-in cylinder liners were used to prevent premature wear and oil burning/leaking issues. I read dozens of articles on this engine but I can't find any information on whether or not this engine does use liners or maybe a special coating. Any input would be great and would help ease my apprehension.

Aaron
Old 08-04-2012, 11:06 AM
V-8 Sounds Great

Received 111 Likes on 38 Posts

Originally Posted by taekat
Ok,

I am new to the truck world and I am really interested in learning about the new ecoboost engine before I buy a truck. I have come to realiz that the engine block and head is aluminum so my question is does the ecoboost use cylinder liners. My only knowledge on aluminum engines is that pressed-in cylinder liners were used to prevent premature wear and oil burning/leaking issues. I read dozens of articles on this engine but I can't find any information on whether or not this engine does use liners or maybe a special coating. Any input would be great and would help ease my apprehension.

Aaron
Aaron, from what I understand, all aluminum blocks (since the 1970s) must have liners (called sleeved cylinder walls). If you think about it, no amount of lubrication can keep aluminum from wearing, so there must be a hardened material separating the piston from the cylinder.