What OBD II scanner for transmission code? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back  Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 1997 - 2003 Ford F150
What OBD II scanner for transmission code? >

What OBD II scanner for transmission code?

Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

What OBD II scanner for transmission code?

Reply

 
 
 
Old 09-01-2015, 11:47 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default What OBD II scanner for transmission code?

I just bought a new to me truck. 99 f150 lariat with 5.4l engine, auto transmission.

I've got an intermittent flashing od light. Previous owner said he drove for 3 years with the light on. I took the truck to 2 auto stores that refused to scan the truck while running. The problem is, when the truck is turned off, the light resets. It may take 5 minutes of driving or 30 to get the light to come back on.

Anyway, I figure I need a scanner. What scanner will fit the bill on the cheap? Thanks!
alnen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 04:58 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have one of the cheap elm327 bluetooth modules connected to my smart phone and use the torque pro app. I may have 15.00 into a scan tool.
My od off light was flashing I hooked up the scanner and it gave me the code for my problem. You can also check real-time data stream on most of your engine vitals.
Allen Witt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 05:04 PM
  #3  
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 18,989
Thanked 3,636 Times in 2,869 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Allen Witt View Post
I have one of the cheap elm327 bluetooth modules connected to my smart phone and use the torque pro app. I may have 15.00 into a scan tool.
My od off light was flashing I hooked up the scanner and it gave me the code for my problem. You can also check real-time data stream on most of your engine vitals.
Ditto what he said^
.
Rnlcomp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 03:35 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Allen Witt View Post
I have one of the cheap elm327 bluetooth modules connected to my smart phone and use the torque pro app. I may have 15.00 into a scan tool.
My od off light was flashing I hooked up the scanner and it gave me the code for my problem. You can also check real-time data stream on most of your engine vitals.
Ok, I got my Bluetooth scanner today and paid for torque. My od light is flashing, I scanned for codes, and torque tells me "no codes stored in ecu". Is there any way to scan for the tranny code or am I gonna have to go to Ford to get this scanned? Thanks!
alnen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 06:35 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Look up how to add PIDS to torque add the preset Ford PIDS and it should work
Allen Witt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 11:47 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Allen Witt View Post
Look up how to add PIDS to torque add the preset Ford PIDS and it should work
Added the Ford PIDs. Still not seeing any codes when I scan. Looking at the menu of PIDs, I see all of them, but there is no data. There is a green ecu next to each item. When I click edit, it lets me test each one, but some say "no response" and others will show numbers that I don't know what they mean. Help? I really don't want to go to the dealership!
alnen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 12:04 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I got some of the pids loaded onto the real time data screen. Right now as I was driving, the od started flashing at the exact same time a loud squealing started on the right rear side of my truck. Is that a coincidence?
alnen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 01:28 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

alnen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 09:22 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It may be something to do with the year. I googled how to get transmission codes and got mine to work.
Allen Witt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 10:58 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Allen Witt View Post
It may be something to do with the year. I googled how to get transmission codes and got mine to work.
Can you post what scanner you got? I just noticed in the real time screen at the bottom it says "faulty obd scanner". Gonna return it.
alnen is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: What OBD II scanner for transmission code?


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: