Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

No Tail Lights But Other Lights Work

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2016, 10:45 PM
Thunderbird Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Unhappy No Tail Lights But Other Lights Work

Good afternoon F150 community,

I've recently purchased a 2000 F150 4.2L from an auction at a very good price. I've fixed everything except for the tail lights and license plate lights. For some reason, I can't get them to turn on. My brake lights work, my blinkers work, I'm not sure about the reverse lights, but I'll check when I get home tonight. My headlights work as well. I'm not very good with the electrical side of vehicles so I'm a bit confused here. I didn't see any fuses for the tail lights, but I may have missed something. Any suggestions for troubleshooting and tracking down this problem? Anything is appreciated and thanks in advance!

Thanks,
Tim
Old 09-08-2016, 10:51 PM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Get under the truck, find the plug for the wires back there drivers side of the frame. Work that plug. After I had the bed off mine to replace the fuel pump. I had the same issues but as soon as I pushed that plug together tighter. All lights worked right.
Good luck and hope this works for you.
Pete
Old 09-08-2016, 10:56 PM
Thunderbird Fanatic

Originally Posted by petef-150
Get under the truck, find the plug for the wires back there drivers side of the frame. Work that plug. After I had the bed off mine to replace the fuel pump. I had the same issues but as soon as I pushed that plug together tighter. All lights worked right.
Good luck and hope this works for you.
Pete
Thank you for the prompt reply! In fact, I too pulled the bed off to replace the fuel pump. I'll play with that plug for a bit and see if it works. I'll let you know tomorrow.
Old 09-11-2016, 10:59 PM
Thunderbird Fanatic