How to change overhead temp gauge/compass out with mpg and trip computer - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back  Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 1997 - 2003 Ford F150
How to change overhead temp gauge/compass out with mpg and trip computer > How to change overhead temp gauge/compass out with mpg and trip computer
Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

How to change overhead temp gauge/compass out with mpg and trip computer

Reply

 
 
 
Old 07-15-2017, 12:33 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
ibd2328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8,355
Thanked 411 Times in 330 Posts
Default How to change overhead temp gauge/compass out with mpg and trip computer

Oops. Will edit this, just now read the Photobucket ordeal. Need to apparently add photos as attachments directly to the forums server.
ibd2328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 06:42 PM
  #2  
Moderator
 
03f15012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: North Charleston, SC
Posts: 14,451
Thanked 459 Times in 379 Posts
Default

Oooh.... I'd love to do this... Waiting patiently for pics!
03f15012 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 09:57 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
ibd2328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8,355
Thanked 411 Times in 330 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 03f15012 View Post
Oooh.... I'd love to do this... Waiting patiently for pics!
I am using a unix based system and for some reason I am still having issues with the file upload. Does the system allow for PDF files or just jpg/gif files ?
ibd2328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 11:52 PM
  #4  
Moderator
 
03f15012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: North Charleston, SC
Posts: 14,451
Thanked 459 Times in 379 Posts
Default

I'm a bit unsure if a PDF could be used. Martian might know, however I can see if I can pull the site I use for PDF conversion. I've always done jpegs, so it's never been a worry for me, unfortunately.
03f15012 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 12:06 AM
  #5  
Looking for a Henway.
iTrader: (2)
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,926
Thanked 252 Times in 212 Posts
Default

yes, it allows .pdf attachments, but not displayed in the active window, only a link to download.

An option is to make an album here on the site with all the pics in it, then link those pics to the thread.

The link below is just the first .pdf file online I could find, no idea what it is.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
pdf.pdf (423.8 KB, 13 views)

Last edited by blupupher; 07-16-2017 at 12:08 AM.
blupupher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 01:08 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
ibd2328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8,355
Thanked 411 Times in 330 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by blupupher View Post
yes, it allows .pdf attachments, but not displayed in the active window, only a link to download.

An option is to make an album here on the site with all the pics in it, then link those pics to the thread.

The link below is just the first .pdf file online I could find, no idea what it is.
Perfect, thank you all. I get annoyed at some of those sites when they compress and expand pixels in a pdf to get another format. It makes small text hard to read most of the time. I get use to math forums and journal entries.

The only thing needed for the conversion is just a led display from a navigator or expedition with (trip and mpg). Our PCM can send the same signal to the module as those, and thus we easily get our miles to empty, instantaneous mpg, and trip mpg.

I am try to do a pin by pin swap and then the 3-5 extra wires depending on what you want to add to it. The pinouts are all in PDF's, so you guys helped me fix the problem. I will have it all up tomorrow sometime, I am too tired to attach 20 photos atm.
ibd2328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 08:51 AM
  #7  
Looking for a Henway.
iTrader: (2)
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,926
Thanked 252 Times in 212 Posts
Default

Cool.
Will it be any different if it is only the overhead compass?
Since I have temp on my A/C controls, all I have on the overhead is compass, and I have that turned off. I would love a MTE display.
blupupher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 11:42 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
ibd2328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8,355
Thanked 411 Times in 330 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by blupupher View Post
Cool.
Will it be any different if it is only the overhead compass?
Since I have temp on my A/C controls, all I have on the overhead is compass, and I have that turned off. I would love a MTE display.

I am assuming yours has the moonroof ?
ibd2328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 11:45 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
ibd2328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8,355
Thanked 411 Times in 330 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by blupupher View Post
Cool.
Will it be any different if it is only the overhead compass?
Since I have temp on my A/C controls, all I have on the overhead is compass, and I have that turned off. I would love a MTE display.
A little different if you want the temp to display on both. Otherwise, no. Its the same.
ibd2328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 11:54 AM
  #10  
Moderator
 
03f15012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: North Charleston, SC
Posts: 14,451
Thanked 459 Times in 379 Posts
Default

Mine does has a roof, I'd be curious if that would cause problems. I'm guessing I would need a overhead module with the DTE/MPG capability. There's a navigator at the yard with the right module, so I can grab that if necessary.
03f15012 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: