High output alternator? - Page 3 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



High output alternator?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2017, 08:08 AM   #21
97 F150 XLT
 
white89gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3,697
Thanked 241 Times in 231 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akdoggie View Post
What is the info on the white tag under the hose? That would give you the exact specs.

White....that is the same alternator as the Taurus 3.0 also, and those were 130 and larger. I have one in the shed with the bad brush gouges. I'll order a new 12.00 one and throw it together, It is the same as the 4.0 Mustang also.
The one in my Mustang is out of a New Edge with a 3.8 V6. I bought a 95 harness new from Ford years ago, and it works sweet.
white89gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:39 AM   #22
1998 4X4 W/5.4L E4OD
 
Jbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MI
Posts: 12,162
Thanked 835 Times in 779 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioLariat View Post
We'll... that's interesting. Somebody's making/rebuilding large-case alternators with smaller stators? I guess unless it's OEM Motorcraft, you can't count on the visual cues.
Somethings up if that's the case. Iduno, I'd test it vs believing that sticker.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioLariat View Post
P. S. Sorry, Brew. I figured you would've been sawing logs at that time.
No problem.
Jbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:35 PM   #23
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Columbus, OH area
Posts: 121
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioLariat View Post
Knight: Are there two holes or four in the "webbing" on that thing?
Double checked moments ago (sorry, it got too late last night), and it is just like the link I posted above...4 holes

So, is this what I need?

http://www.tascaparts.com/ford/f-150...ame=alternator

Will the round thing (pulley?) the belt goes on to swap right over?? Are there any other parts I need or is it plug and play?

Last edited by KnightRider; 05-19-2017 at 07:51 PM.
KnightRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:01 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
akdoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 4,007
Thanked 374 Times in 358 Posts
Default

Yep, that will do it. The pulley will swap no problem also. Good luck.

I wonder if you will need a new belt. There is not application that fits, that shows the HD alternator (other than AC) so a regular belt might work. I'm thinking that the extra size case, you will need almost an 1 inch longer belt. Pulley is the same, but the case size, will make some distance additional, so that is why I'm questioning a bigger belt.

Last edited by akdoggie; 05-19-2017 at 08:09 PM.
akdoggie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:15 PM   #25
1998 4X4 W/5.4L E4OD
 
Jbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MI
Posts: 12,162
Thanked 835 Times in 779 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightRider View Post


That's the strange part, that's a two hole. I'd still check it, they could of marked it wrong unless they're converting 2 holes to 95 amp.

I guess they could of done that across the board, perhaps Ford is responsible and I just haven't heard about it. At a stalemate more less unless someone has more data on the subject. Tasca shows it as a 130 as well.

Last edited by Jbrew; 05-19-2017 at 08:20 PM.
Jbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:41 PM   #26
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Columbus, OH area
Posts: 121
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Jbrew, here is a better picture of my current alternator. Not sure how you can tell from my previous photo. It is 95A. The one Tasca has says 130A.

KnightRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:44 PM   #27
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Columbus, OH area
Posts: 121
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Anyone know if I will need a bigger serpentine belt? If so, anyone got a link (preferably Motorcraft)? I want to make sure I got what I need so I know how much this will cost me.
KnightRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:02 PM   #28
1998 4X4 W/5.4L E4OD
 
Jbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MI
Posts: 12,162
Thanked 835 Times in 779 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightRider View Post
Jbrew, here is a better picture of my current alternator. Not sure how you can tell from my previous photo. It is 95A. The one Tasca has says 130A.
Okay that explains it, I was looking at the web showing..wrong web. It's all better now lol. Makes total sense, thanks for the new pic.

Last edited by Jbrew; 05-19-2017 at 10:04 PM.
Jbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:32 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
akdoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 4,007
Thanked 374 Times in 358 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightRider View Post
Anyone know if I will need a bigger serpentine belt? If so, anyone got a link (preferably Motorcraft)? I want to make sure I got what I need so I know how much this will cost me.
The cases are 13mm bigger (1/2 inch), so half of that (centering the pulley) would be 6.5mm (1/4 inch) extra for the height. 1/4 inch times pi would make .80 inches, so it would be a minimum of 3/4 of extra length and probably closer to 1 inch. You can't take an inch out of the tensioner, so I'd have to say you would need a longer (1 inch) belt.
akdoggie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:41 PM   #30
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Columbus, OH area
Posts: 121
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Got a link to a belt I would need?
KnightRider is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2017 F150Forum.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send