Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Exhaust pipe question - 2 ½” - 2 ¼

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2019, 06:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust pipe question - 2 ½” - 2 ¼

I’m new to the forum and this is my first time posting, so please excuse me if I post this in the wrong spot. My son just got a ’98 F-150 XLT with the 5.4L. Overall the truck seams pretty good but we do have a few minor things we will need to replace. My question is about exhaust pipe diameter. The stock exhaust looks like it is about 2 ½”. He just recently replaced the muffler but the one he bought is 2 ¼” so when the exhaust shop put it on they changed the pipe from the muffler back to 2 ¼. Is this going to cause any problems? The truck is stock so I’m not chocking out any “high performance” HP gains, just more curious as to what this will do or if it will cause any problems with the increase in back pressure?
Rob
Old 03-04-2019, 06:52 PM

Received 6,476 Likes on 4,612 Posts

No, it won't cause any issues. But the shop sounds pretty incompetent or inconsiderate to me. You are correct, it is 2.5" pipe. Any decent shop (in my personal opinion) should have said something to you before proceeding, even if you did bring your own muffler.
Old 03-04-2019, 08:04 PM

Received 5,553 Likes on 4,630 Posts