Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

bought an after market radio now confused!

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2011, 02:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bought an after market radio now confused!

I bought a radio for my 03 f150 and a wiring harness to "simplify" things i matched all the wires from the harness to the aftermarket then dash lights went out fixed the fuse but radio still wont work.Too i have 3 wires that match nothing i have the illumination wire (orange/white stripe) and two solid black im guessing one is an extra ground but im unsure any sugestion?Oh its a jvc radio from wal-mart
Old 12-28-2011, 02:37 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

well im not a pro at electrical wiring but i think the illumination wire you were talking about having extra is supposed to be hooked to the dash light that are then hooked to the dimmer roller so you can dim the back lighting maybe the radio needs that for power? or make sure that all your ground wires are good even try grounding the extra one. tell me if you figured it out or tried it
Old 12-28-2011, 02:46 AM

not a radion man so dont know where the dimmer is never messed with it and the other black wires are too short to ground and i dont wont to splice them into the big one and risk messing it up
Old 12-28-2011, 02:56 AM

Make sure the radio is ground good...extra blk wires sounds wrong! If u have a bad ground or no ground the radio won't work....I would find a way to identify all the wires on ur harness..if u can't figure out what the harness wires r ur not at the point to connect any of them...plus diconnect the batt. when doing any work on wiring! If I were u I would start with knowing what wires r power and ground because of ur specific problem....try call the maufacture of the harness to find out the color codes for the wiring....Good Luck!
Old 12-28-2011, 03:00 AM