Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Upgrade Wish List and Questions YOU Might Help Me With...Please :)

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2010, 10:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Upgrade Wish List and Questions YOU Might Help Me With...Please :)

So basically I'm making this thread because I always lose track of my posts on forums, hoping that it will make my research easier as I go to avoid truck downtime...I work out of town for a living and have a small window for upgrades. So although I use the search button (above, third button from the right), please keep in mind that I might be re-asking a question due to a conflict in answers on this or another forum. Please be patient with me.

To start, I just picked up an 07 SCAB XLT 4.6L in may. Had 32,000km on it, so hopefully worth sinking money into. Its my first real truck. I'll post pics as soon as I can get my wife to lend me her camera.

Anyway, to the list! Wife gave me the "OK" to lift the truck haha!

Leveling Kit:

Either the Bilstein 5100 or blocks/spacers.
Guy I work with said that if I do the bilstein route I'll still need to use blocks and something about the torsion bars as well otherwise it will ride like a pig. If someone can confirm/deny/explain this I would appreciate it as I would like to do this in the next month or 2.

Tires:

Going to stick with the stock wheels for now, since I do like how they look. Priced out a set of BFG A/T's, 305/65R18 and there just over $1800CDN installed. I haven't heard a lot about them. I know they look good but I want something functional as well. Good for On/Off road, but not going to make my long trips miserable with the tires droning. Open to suggestions if there are other brands I should consider.

Also, would a 305/65R18 fit or would rubbing be a major issue using stock wheels? What about before/after leveling?

Exhaust: