Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Overheating 2008 5.4

Old 06-25-2017, 03:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overheating 2008 5.4

Newbie here with yet another thread about overheating issues. I've read several of the other posts and still seek some of the great advice on here.

Here's the history/situation:

2008 SuperCrew with 155k miles

A year ago, on a long trip, the truck was parked but running and a/c turned on in 100+ degree heat. After an hour the a/c started to blow hot air. Once I started driving the temp gauge went back down and we finished the trip with no further issue. Coolant level was good and the air temp went way down after that day.

A couple months later, while towing in hot conditions, got a flat tire. Ran the truck and a/c while changing the flat. Almost soon as I started driving, the gauge pinned again and warning indicator went on. Pulled over, shut it off and waited 20 minutes or so. Topped off coolant which was not too low but at the bottom of the range. The truck started and the gauge reset. I nursed it the rest of the trip, using a/c sparingly and had no more overheating issues.

I flushed the radiator and replaced the thermostat.

But, ever since the gauge will show overheating while all or most of these conditions exist:
1. It's a warm day (80 degrees)
2. Driving in stop and go traffic. Usually at idle.
3. Towing or loaded heavily.

Last week It happened again while running the a/c. The a/c started blowing hot air.

After reading some of the posts on here, I decided to replace the water pump. The old one looked fine but I replaced it anyway.

BUT, I finally noticed that the wire pigtail to the fan clutch is missing. Must have gotten caught in the fan and been ripped out. Here's a dumb question: if the fan clutch isn't working, doesn't that mean that the fan runs continuously? It definitely runs every time I start the truck.

What to try next?