Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Oh NO! [Pictures included]

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2018, 05:21 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default Oh NO! [Pictures included]

So on the way home from work today, everything seamed fine... Got to the house, got out of my truck, and I smell just slight engine smell that I've never smelt before. I was about to just blow it off but I decided to pop the hood.... Well ****, I'm not driving my truck any time soon . As you can see on the right side of the picture, part of my engine shell just broke off....... When you look inside, you can see my camshaft phaser chain. I'm not an auto mechanic and haven't been working on vehicles for a long time, just this truck and my car. But I have all the tools from being an electrician and also buying tools for my vehicles over time. Just wondering if this is a huge problem and going to be a huge cost to fix! I don't mind doing it myself, but it looks like I need to replace the shell of whatever part of my engine this is...

Engine light also came on after i turned my truck back on to move it to a spot where its going to be sitting for awhile, this literally just happened not even 5 miles ago, so thankfully I caught it sooner rather than too late! The code reads P0012 which has to do with the cam shaft phaser. I think its reading that code because there is no pressure because of the hole. When you look into the hole, you can see what looks to be my cam shaft phaser chain.

Well damn... Any ideas how this could of possibly happened lol, also wondering if this is going to be a huge ordeal to fix myself? I'm also wondering if you think its going to be like $500+ or something. Thanks a ton for your time and help on this, thank god for this forum.
The following users liked this post:
o6S1D9e (11-13-2020)
Old 04-12-2018, 05:23 PM
SSDD

Received 1,611 Likes on 1,125 Posts