Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

New 06 Owner Couple ??

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2017, 11:55 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New 06 Owner Couple ??

Okay guys a bit, scratch that, total newb here, been doing a lot of reading and searching and thought I'd just bare my soul to you guys and ask what you think.

Purchased an 06 F150 5.4 with 54k miles on the clock. Real nice truck overall but have an issue.

1. Under hard acceleration it breaks up, the harder you mash the throttle the more it breaks up. If you're easy on the throttle it runs perfect, even if you're on the throttle say half way it runs pretty well until upper rpm but in the upper rpm the more you get into the throttle the worse the condition.

Now I know at 55k I should change the plugs if for nothing else than to make life easier getting them out before too much carbon build up so that's on the list for sure. What Plugs should I use?

What do you think is likely to be causing my problem? I know it's not likely the plugs (that I will change anyway) and am leaning towards the crank position sensor but have heard a place or two it's rare that is a problem.

I'll also change the fuel filter, just installed a new air filter, have three cans of seafoam (a bit more than 1 ounce per gallon) in with a fresh tank of fuel now. Plan to clean the throttle body.

So of course I'm hoping this tune up will fix my issue but does anyone have any insight into what they think the culprit is? Do I just need to get to work on this stuff or is there one thing I should tackle first? Extra time is pretty short for a few weeks and I'd prefer to get this issue fixed if its more like one thing as I won't have time to do it all for a few weeks.
Old 03-02-2017, 05:54 AM
05 5.4l 3v s.crew lariat

Received 627 Likes on 564 Posts

Default Base line- 90% of problems are saprkplugs/boots