Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Getting to top bolt on 5.4 starter

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2010, 09:57 PM
Something

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Getting to top bolt on 5.4 starter

Hey all. So yeah, I've read everything about getting to the top bolt on the starter on the 5.4s and of course I have been trying different methods myself. I am just wondering if anyone has found a more convenient way of getting that top bolt off.

I am working with jackstands here so basically I will be jacking the truck as far off the ground as possible and possibly removing the passenger side cat & oxy sensor tomorrow to get to that top bolt. I'm pissed and am ready to do this procedure after many attempts to reach the stupid top bolt while messing around.

Has anyone found a good way or position to get to that top bolt? I don't really want to buy any more expensive tools just to get into hard to reach places. I have a 3/4" 90 degree thingy (I am bad w/ names) to unbolt the top bolt but it would be awesome if anyone had a special method short of putting the truck on a garage lift. Man I wish I had one of those.

I will just plug away at this if no one has any good methods, but I'm wondering if anyone has any good tried and true methods here. Thanks!
Old 07-19-2010, 10:12 PM
Devil's advocate

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

Here's a good write up.
Step 4
http://www.f150online.com/forums/art...l-starter.html
Old 07-19-2010, 11:25 PM

Received 120 Likes on 97 Posts

If you have an air ratchet, toss on an extension and a deep socket. You can get above it.
Old 07-20-2010, 02:26 PM
Something

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Thanks for the insight all.