Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

DTC d262 / PATS / Wiring / Wont Start = HELP PLZ

Old 11-30-2016, 06:39 PM
2004FX4Crew4.6L

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default DTC d262 / PATS / Wiring / Wont Start = HELP PLZ

Hi everyone, I'm John, new here...can't mod the truck if it doesnt drive :P
Not sure if this is right Forum as this is my first time posting
I got a pretty big problem & could really use some advice / assistance as im stuck. Thanks for any help in advance.

Some Background Info:
- Bought used 2004 Ford F150 SuperCrew 4.6L w/ 260000 KM
- I have NEVER had any issues & drove daily for 1 month
- I am NOT very mechanically / electronically adapt
- I DONT have a fuse tester / multimeter / ODB-II Scanner, but will buy them
- I DO have a Haynes Repair Manual

Problem:
It RAINED (FAULTY WIRING?) & when I went to start it:
- Then engine will turn over but not start
- Anti Theft Light (PATS) light flickers the flashes 1x slow & then 6x fast
- Check Engine Light is on
- Dashes in the Odometer
- I believe on 2004 truck, PATS has starter/fuel auto-shutoff feature

I think (based on below) the problem im having is a PAT-related or Wiring issue (dashes in odometer & DTC d262) and not the key needing to be reprogrammed or anything else but Im not 100% sure.

What Iv'e Tried / Tested / Researched
1) I tried everything related to simple checks = no luck
- lock/unlock doors with key / spark key / keyless entry
- disconnect both battery terminals for 2 days
- i changed CR2032 Key Battery

2) I checked the fuel pump on/off button (passenger kick panel)
- It is pushed in (off).

3) Since I have NO ODB Scanner nor do I know how to use one yet)
I did the Ford HEC Dealer Test Mode
- Received DTC d262.
- I didn't see anything BAD of the other Descriptions below & all my guages / lights seem to work: (GAGE/BULB/R/EE/DT/DTG/ENG/M/TAC/FUEL/OIL/DEG'C/BATT/rhEo/CR/PA-PE7) = All OK

3) Researching the forum: