Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

2005 5.4L Low AND Decreasing Idle, Dies at Stops

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2018, 11:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2005 5.4L Low AND Decreasing Idle, Dies at Stops

Alright guys, I see tons of posts about the low idle and dying at stops, but none quite match my symptoms. Hoping you can help. Please note, I am not a mechanic nor do I have access to OBD2 tools or PCM analyzers, so bear with me.

THE GOOD
I'll fire it up, it idles initially at around 1250 then quickly starts to drop to around 700 which I believe is totally normal. When I start driving and come to a complete stop, the idle sits at 550-600 when things are good and the A/C is running. This is usually my sign that I'm gonna make it to where ever I'm going.

THE BAD
Been happening for about a month, very intermittent and it started when the weather changed from cold to hot, although I don't know if that's actually meaningful -- it's usually towards the end of my short 15 minute commute, the idle will start to gradually dip when coming to each stop. First it'll drop to 500, the next stop it'll fall below 500, the next stop below 400. I've seen it dip as low as 250-300 before finally stalling. When accelerating from these low idle states, it will surge a bit as the engine seems to try to catch back up. When it stalls, I'll quickly throw it in Park, turn the key off, then fire it right back up. As of yet, it hasn't stranded me on the side of the road, but I fear it's only a matter of time. When it stalls, I get the battery light and the check engine light. The screen says "Check Gauges". Upon promptly checking the gauges, they tell me absolutely nothing useful (see attachment). Overall when it happens, it seems like whatever is controlling the idle is just slowly "giving up", but it doesn't make sense to me why starting the truck back up temporarily "resets" it long enough to get where I'm going.