Topic Sponsor
Electrical, Lights and Audio "How-To" articles pertaining to the Electrical System (including Lights and Audio) of an F150

2004 - 2008 F150 Mini H1 Projector Retrofit how-to

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2016, 10:41 PM
TOTM November 2019

Received 11,600 Likes on 6,204 Posts

Default 2004 - 2008 F150 Mini H1 Projector Retrofit how-to

Let me start off by saying that this is my first attempt at a retrofit. I have opened aftermarket heads before to paint the bezel, so I had experience only there and in the painting of parts. On a scale of 1-10, I would say this is a 7 on difficulty, 10 being the hardest. If you are prepared, take your time and research as much as you can, anyone with basic hand tools and an oven can do this. I highly suggest browsing the HIDPlanet forum. I met some very helpful, eager to lend and opinion members over there, especially member HK45, he did the bulb shimming how to I link below.

First step was to buy all the retrofit parts. I went right to the best site there is, The Retrofit Source. I did however do this with "budget" in mind, in case I got frustrated or overwhelmed. Only the painting got the best of me, and that was purely optional. I bought as much as I could from the "closeout" section.

Materials needed:

Mini H1 projectors
Orbit shrouds with centric rings (a must for these shrouds)
MOTOCONTROL BIXENON controller harness: H13/9008
Morimoto H1 6500K bulbs (I suggest the 5000K, my only regret, the 6500K is too blue)
Ballasts and igniters : 35W Morimoto XB35 Ballasts & Morimoto XB Igniters
New black housing headlights from ebay, these are great quality, better than other sets I have bought: http://www.ebay.com/itm/191251395531?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AITFeel free to use your stock headlights if they are in good shape, but they will be harder to open.