Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

15W40 to the rescue!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2012, 07:23 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default 15W40 to the rescue!!!!

I am new to Fords and just bought an 05 FX4. Very impressed and love the ride and feel of the truck. I traded my 03 Tacoma at a dealership for the truck and could not be happier. Anyhow, after I got the truck home I noticed the diesel sounds and ticking coming from the top of the engine. I did a lot of searching and reading through forums to see what the issue could be and see if any resolution could be made to fix it. I now know I have the dreaded cam Phaser rattle and it only happens when the engine is at warm temperature.

I read on another forum about trying a heavier oil to quiet the rattling and diesel sounds so I went to Ford and bought the proper filter (there was a motomaster filter on there) and picked up a 9.5 liter jug of Rotella 15w40 diesel oil. Did the oil change and started the truck which was already warm. I could tell because the oil that came out was hot to touch. The diesel sound was there when I first turned the key and after 3 seconds.....gone!!! Not a rattle or tick or nothing!!! From the day I brought this truck home I was told by several friends that the truck sounded like is was going to blow..it was that loud. Anyhow, I have about 300 kilometers(180 miles) and knock on wood the truck is as quiet as a church mouse.Oil pressure never changed as well.

I am not advising that people do this because I understand about these modular engines and how oil passages are tiny and prone to sludge build up but in my honest opinion I think the 5w20 is too thin and feel this was one of the issues why so many people are experiencing the same ticking and diesel sounds as I was.

I will however run the heavier oil for the remainder of the summer and drop back down to a 5w30 for the cold months. Just my .02