This is that retrofit thread we talked about! - Page 71 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back  Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - 2014 Ford F150
This is that retrofit thread we talked about! >

This is that retrofit thread we talked about!

Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.

This is that retrofit thread we talked about!

Reply

 
 
 
Old 12-30-2013, 08:06 PM
  #701  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
kidastra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 3,360
Thanked 572 Times in 465 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Joel_980 View Post
Deal- if TRS doesn't refund me. U pay shipping & $100 and u take everything I have.
sounds good, but I'd really much rather you get them working!
kidastra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:11 PM
  #702  
Senior Member
 
Joel_980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 262
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kidastra View Post
if you want to try, take the new ballast, hook both grounds directly to the battery and test it like that
I'll go try this now with the one side (passenger), that never works anymore... See if grounding is my fault, though I expect not, as I sanded the gram to bare metal then screwed/bolted onto that.
Joel_980 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:18 PM
  #703  
F150 Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 814
Thanked 549 Times in 376 Posts
Default

TRS has indicated that the ballasts may have faulted the HID bulbs as well. Has TRS sent you new bulbs? If not, you may want to get them to.

As most of you all know, I use TRS products exclusively and have had very good success doing so. Yes, on occasion, there is a hiccup, but I always ensure my clients are taken care of. My own F150 has been running on TRS components for a few years now, including the old skool relay that would utilize the relay cubes they sent you. I have no idea why they would have sent those to you.

TRS is extremely proactive with product development, which is good....but I do believe they need to thoroughly test their updated products in all possible conditions for a longer period of time prior to releasing the product(s) for sale. You are dealing with just your own retrofitted headlights, whereas I am dealing with hundreds and any electrical gremlins cause me much grief.

The whole system is quite simple when it comes to troubleshooting. If you can, hook your ballasts up to 12v directly with the bulbs and see if they work. Try switching the bulbs on the same ballast if one doesn't fire up. This eliminates the harness to narrow down the fault finding.
bilinvic Retrofits is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bilinvic Retrofits For This Useful Post:
bobkyle2 (01-01-2014), iRub1Out (12-30-2013), Joel_980 (12-30-2013)
Old 12-31-2013, 08:06 AM
  #704  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
kidastra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 3,360
Thanked 572 Times in 465 Posts
Default

any luck joel?
kidastra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:46 AM
  #705  
Senior Member
 
Joel_980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 262
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

No unfortunately not. I truly appreciate everyone's Help, and I so badly want to go back to stock headlights and never have to waste another minute on these things in the -30...

And then I wonder how the new ballasts would react had they shipped me a new relay harness like we had specified. ...
Joel_980 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 09:36 AM
  #706  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
kidastra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 3,360
Thanked 572 Times in 465 Posts
Default

it makes no sense that the relay would work ford the old set but not the new. Maybe iRub1Out can send you that relay to test. did you try bilinvics suggestion and go straight to the 12v with the ballast?
kidastra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 10:13 AM
  #707  
Problem Solver
 
iRub1Out's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,225
Thanked 355 Times in 261 Posts
Default

The relay you pictured, not the cubes, but the brick, is really different from the one I have.

Mine is gold in color - not black.

It makes sense that the cubes wouldn't work since his harness isn't designed to use them, he needs that brick one like it had originally.

Idk why TRS didn't try that.

But what Bilinvic said would be the first step. If they work flawlessly when directly wired to 12v then I would suspect the relay or something harness related.

If they still act up without the relay then it could be ballast or bulb.

But in this case my gut says its the relay.
iRub1Out is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 10:33 AM
  #708  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
kidastra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 3,360
Thanked 572 Times in 465 Posts
Default

joel, where you located?
kidastra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 11:17 AM
  #709  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Does anyone know if a ds3 bulb would work with a ds1 ballast.
Lukef150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 11:26 AM
  #710  
Problem Solver
 
iRub1Out's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,225
Thanked 355 Times in 261 Posts
Default

No it won't.

You mean D3S bulb and a D1S connector?

How did that combo come to be? That's a really strange question.

Last edited by iRub1Out; 12-31-2013 at 11:29 AM.
iRub1Out is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: This is that retrofit thread we talked about!


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: