Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Next truck gas or diesel?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2011, 08:12 PM

Received 51 Likes on 36 Posts
Default Next truck gas or diesel?

Sold my '11 Lariat Screw 5.0 2wd
Loved it but I'm moving to Colorado.

For my next truck I cant decide between getting an older diesel either 2003-7 6.0L or 2000-3 7.3L. That or a '11-12 FX4. I have recently seen FX4's around here for 31k and for examples sake a 2007 F250 6.0L with 40,000 miles lifted on 38"s for the same price.
As a point to be made, I have zero experience or knowledge on diesels and can do basic maintenance on gas vehicles.

I only tow on rare occasions and haul construction debris every couple weeks. Love the look, power, gas mileage, and resale value of the SuperDuty but also cautious of how diesel has shot up to more than a dollar more than premium gas here lately. Also been reading lots of negative info about reliability of Fords 6.0L although some say it has been flawless for them.
I do love the new F150's and having a warranty is always a comfort while it lasts.

Anyone have any personal experience with these engines that can offer a recommendation? on maintenance issues? or reliability? I'm torn. Either way I'm driving a Ford...
Old 12-12-2011, 08:18 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Zachary, I'd be leery of a lifted truck on 38's because too many of these lifts are not done properly. I've been off-roading for most of 20 years and learned a long time ago to find a near stock vehicle and do my own mods so I know they're done right. For the same money I'd go with the FX4 and build it the way you want it. Just my opinion. Good luck with your decision.
Old 12-12-2011, 08:45 PM
Race Red '12 XLT SCrew EB

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

Personally I wouldnt touch a 6.0.
Old 12-12-2011, 08:46 PM

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

7.3, stay the H&*$ away from a 6.0
Old 12-12-2011, 08:59 PM