Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My first attempt at a retrofit

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2016, 01:57 AM
Triton

Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Default My first attempt at a retrofit

New to retrofitting here. Wishing I had the funs to spend on some raptor retrofit hid headlamps but unfortunately I don't so I started my own for less than a quarter of the cost of the raptors. I've never done this before so everything I do is with the help of you all and youtube. first and foremost i had bought a stock set of chrome halogen headlights awhile back for $100. Then a short time later I found another set and talked them down to $80. I'm keeping the second set for backup incase this first set doesnt work out. if all goes well i have a few friends that drive an f150 maybe i can build another set for them.

On to the process...

1. I placed the headlights in the oven at 250 degrees and baked them for 20 min and started to pry them apart. Got part of it opened so i put them back in for 10 minute intervals until i finally got them seperated.

2. When i seperated the buckets and bezel i drilled a hole in the back of the assembly to reach the third screw.

3. Next was paint which i probably should have waited till after dremeling the bucket to prevent all the dust from sticking. Anyways I couldn't decide how i wanted them painted so I ended up just going black. I painted the bezel gloss black and then used matte black for the buckets. You can also see that i dremeled off the little mounting post for the bulb shield. this will be used for a majority of the wiring and wont be seen anyways.

4. bought all the parts for the build. Used the forums promo code on the retrofit source to save 25%.
Mini h1 7.0 projectors with included centric rings
55w ballasts
6500k bulbs
switchback panamera shrouds (painted those red to match the truck)
3 inch switchback led strips (2 on each side)