Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Make sure you look inside your Motorcraft oil filter

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2015, 11:15 PM

Received 90 Likes on 63 Posts

Default Make sure you look inside your Motorcraft oil filter

Was in the middle of another joyous oil change on f150. Oil drained, old filter off, ready to go. Opened the new filter and was getting ready to pour some oil in it and noticed a piece of rubber laying loose in the filter. Needless to say, I went back to the parts store and they were out of them. So, I decided to replace it with a K&N. I figured the nut would make easier install and removal. The parts store ate the difference in price. I am now going to be a little more cautious with new filters. That would have been a potential disaster. I moved the piece to the top for picture purposes. I work in manufacturing, so I understand things happen. But, this is a pretty critical defect that should never have left the factory.
Attached Thumbnails Make sure you look inside your Motorcraft oil filter-image-75568931.jpg  
Old 05-31-2015, 11:47 PM

Received 233 Likes on 158 Posts

Motorcraft filters are junk. Every one of the filters I've used has left the outer gasket on the housing. Used K&N oil filters for 11 years on my Powerstroke, never left a gasket on the housing.
Old 06-01-2015, 12:36 AM

Received 698 Likes on 442 Posts

Huh? "Left the gasket on the housing"? What does that mean? If you mean that when you take the filter off the gasket stays on the *engine block*, that's nothing to be concerned about. Many filters do that, no brand exclusions here. That certainly is an odd reason to call a filter "junk".