Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

how good/bad are new f150 in snow and winter?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2012, 03:49 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default how good/bad are new f150 in snow and winter?

I've never driven a truck in the elements before. I keep reading about how great traction control is on the new f150's. Is this exaggerated?

In other words is a new f150 with traction/stability still a lot more difficult to drive around snow covered highway than say, a RWD suv (think xterra, fj cruiser, etc?) Is the learning curve still significant?

A tundra in my area just flipped off the road and everyone died so it's kinda got me freaked out. Snow was a factor.

Like I said I have no experience driving a truck in winter and I have no idea just how steep the learning curve is. I'm coming from driving only FWD sedans in winter.
Old 10-07-2012, 03:54 PM

Received 1,389 Likes on 664 Posts

Dont know about the 09+ trucks but my 05 is unstoppable in the snow. The weight and the long wheelbase really help it in the snow so I dont see a reason why a newer truck would be worse. Tires make a huge difference in snow also. A fullsize truck with a good set of tires will handle the snow better than most other vehicles on the road.
Old 10-07-2012, 03:56 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Mine is a 2010 2WD SCAB and does just fine in snow and generally crappy conditions. The traction control is very good and I put about 300 lbs of sandbags in the back for winter. 4WD would be better but I'm getting by OK with 2WD. A big part of it is how much experience you have with severe winter conditions - you also have to get used to trucks if you're coming from just driving cars all the time because there's different things to watch out for.

Last edited by Joe Rotax; 10-07-2012 at 03:59 PM.
Old 10-07-2012, 03:57 PM

Received 153 Likes on 87 Posts