Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.

FORScan tire size issues

 
Old 06-11-2019, 09:30 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 66
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default FORScan tire size issues

I need help with FORScan. I'm trying to change the tire size from a 275/65r18 to 275/70r18. I thought I was supposed to change 726-12-01 to like 09ff but it didn't allow that. I do not have access to the laptop used until tomorrow.
Brodden01 is offline  
Old 06-11-2019, 11:11 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 296
Received 33 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

I don’t believe anyone has gotten forscan to actually change the tire size. I think the only way anyone has gotten it to work on a sub 2015 model is by using a programmer.
LexPD is online now  
Old 06-11-2019, 11:48 PM
  #3  
How's she goin' eh?
 
M0RRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: South Detroit
Posts: 3,337
Received 323 Likes on 284 Posts
Default

The sticky at the top should have the info you seek.
M0RRIS is offline  
Old 06-12-2019, 11:18 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,913
Received 351 Likes on 312 Posts
Default

Worked on my 2014, but 2011-2013 haven't had success.
jdunk54nl is online now  
Old 06-12-2019, 11:24 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 296
Received 33 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jdunk54nl View Post
Worked on my 2014, but 2011-2013 haven't had success.
Interesting. I didnít know it would work on a 2014. Do you know what the difference is between 13 and 14 that would make it work?

i successfully stopped hyperflash with forscan. Maybe Iíll give the tires a shot to see if Iím lucky. I know some 2012 and 2013 guys were unsuccessful with hyperflash removal. I know the most recent update added a lot of plain English settings compared to previous versions. Maybe thatís why I was successful removing hyperflash.
LexPD is online now  
Old 06-12-2019, 11:30 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,913
Received 351 Likes on 312 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LexPD View Post
Interesting. I didn’t know it would work on a 2014. Do you know what the difference is between 13 and 14 that would make it work?

i successfully stopped hyperflash with forscan. Maybe I’ll give the tires a shot to see if I’m lucky. I know some 2012 and 2013 guys were unsuccessful with hyperflash removal. I know the most recent update added a lot of plain English settings compared to previous versions. Maybe that’s why I was successful removing hyperflash.
No clue, it might also be late model 14's compared to early models. My truck production date (or at least in service date) was July 2014 so it might have been close enough to the 2015's production that it got some of the different circuitry.

Last edited by jdunk54nl; 06-12-2019 at 12:21 PM.
jdunk54nl is online now  
Old 06-12-2019, 11:31 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 296
Received 33 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jdunk54nl View Post
No clue, it might also be late model 14's compared to early models. My truck production date was July 2014 so it might have been close enough to the 2015's production that it got some of the different circuitry.
That would make sense. These trucks and their electrical system are confusing and frustrating.
LexPD is online now  
Old 06-12-2019, 12:20 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 4,179
Received 490 Likes on 415 Posts
Default

The "plain english" settings in Forscan have nothing to do with it. That just means the programmer is confident enough in a particular value change to make it a menu item. It is still doing the same work, changing a hex value in the Ford module, you just don't see it directly. It's all based on the Ford hardware, whatever the differences are.
Spiky is online now  
Old 06-12-2019, 12:51 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 296
Received 33 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Spiky View Post
The "plain english" settings in Forscan have nothing to do with it. That just means the programmer is confident enough in a particular value change to make it a menu item. It is still doing the same work, changing a hex value in the Ford module, you just don't see it directly. It's all based on the Ford hardware, whatever the differences are.
No Iím clear on that. What I meant was the developer had confidently found the appropriate values to make the changes. In other words, maybe the developer was able to successfully find the correct formula to make the tire setting change functional.
LexPD is online now  
Old 06-12-2019, 03:07 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 4,179
Received 490 Likes on 415 Posts
Default

Rnlcomp has posted that IDS also does not work. It's a Ford problem with how the PCM responds to the different kinds of access.
Spiky is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: FORScan tire size issues


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: