Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fast dropping MPGs

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2014, 10:50 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Fast dropping MPGs

This probably been beat up a million times but I am new to the ecoboost and noticing how slow the AVG MPGs climb on the dash and how fast they can fall. Is mine the only one? It feels like it takes 2 miles with the green bar at 30mpg to increase .1 mpg, but it can drop .1 mpg by accelerating evenly to 25mph from a stop sign.

Last week I had 17.0mpg on my normal commute about 100 miles on the tank, shut the truck off and restarted it the next morning (15* F all week in NJ) truck warmed up for 3 min, it dropped to 16.8 avmpg before I drove off very light footed keeping the green line as high as possible it dropped another .2.

After a little highway driving arrived at work 16.7 avmpg then restarted truck after 8 hours in the cold under 20* got home after same drive mixed city/highway with traffic 16.6 avmpg when I pulled into the driveway. This happens every day. Now, we also had a snow storm. But didn't use 4wd drove really slow in traffic 2 hr drive average speed 5mph-10mph, truck had a 15.4 avmpg when I parked it.

Is this normal or does this truck really not like cold and traffic? My other truck never seemed to drop this much in traffic and with cold weather.

I was also thinking if starting in 2nd gear would help when in crawling traffic 5mph or so? Any thoughts on economy driving?
Old 01-27-2014, 11:03 AM

Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts

No, you're not the only one. I have a 2013 xlt ecoboost and it does the same thing. It’s kind of annoying actually. I started to doubt it, so I did manual calculations on fill ups. To my surprise, the truck's computer average was dead on. I did this 3 fill ups (less than half a tank left) in a row and it was pretty much dead on all 3 times, so now I believe it.