Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

EcoBoost vs V8 for towing

Old 08-23-2018, 05:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EcoBoost vs V8 for towing

Okay I’ll start off by saying I’m new to this part of the forum as I have owned a 2000 5.4L F150 for as long as I’ve been driving. As much as I’m dreading and probably going to regret this decision, the time and need has come to upgrade to a newer truck. Only reason for upgrading is the truck I have is underrated to tow my boat (2013 Sea Hunt Gamefish 27) and she’s only 2wd so I’m not going anywhere near the boat ramp to pull my beast of a boat out of the water without a 4x4 truck and a larger towing capacity. So that being said, it brings up the main point of this thread. I’ve been looking to get a 09-14 F150 but I have some questions, as would anyone investing in a new truck:

1) Looking around I’ve noticed a few model years vary in towing capacity. Which model year would be best to handle a total of around an estimated 10,000 lbs total weight (including the trailer, boat, fuel, gear, etc.) and pulling the boat out of the water? According to Google most of the late model F150's can handle about 11k lbs but looking at the GCVW on the door jamb in some truck says otherwise. Is this something I will really have to keep an eye on with these trucks?

2) If I decide on an EcoBoost truck, would it be as sufficient as a V8? I have my concerns with the V6 even though I am fully aware it does pack quite a punch. I am fully open to getting an EcoBoost but would prefer the late model 5.4L. After owning one and towing and hauling with it for so many years I know it’ll pull that boat and not think twice about it in the right truck with the proper suspension.